Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Yakimixing It

So yes, I've been pretty much neglecting this blog and I have soooooo much to post about but I haven't all the time in the world, y'know? A girl's gotta make a living after all. So I've just been keeping my head down and working my tush off and what do I have to show for it? A happy home and an upcoming vacation haha!

But I'm getting ahead of myself. So let me write about something a little more recent, like today recent. Caleb and I tried out Sambokojin in SM Southmall around late last year and I fell in love with the place. Apparently, I can wolf down around 10 people's worth of Salmon Sashimi hehe. We heard about Yakimix opening up in ATC and we decided to give it a try.

Ambiance-wise, it's pretty chill. I like their overhead lights. I had to stare at them for a while, too. In my head, they were bubbles just itching to be popped (yes, I have a thing for popping those). SM's Sambo is larger but Yakimix has a cozier feel to it. We went there for the eat-and-drink-all-you-can for P520 each. Not bad, I must say.

What I didn't like was that their labeling of things to grill was kinda off. You're not really sure which one was which with the way they placed things. According to the boyfriend, the sushi was kinda dry. So that's disappointing. I made an immediate beeline for the Salmon Sashimi. Their mango juice is really refreshing! Great thing about it is that you can change your drink whenever you want. So, Caleb cycled through the red iced tea and root beer. I, on the other hand, was drowning in salad and hotdogs. Their grilled stuff is okay. Some are exceptionally delicious and others are WTH was that. I wish they had sauces to come with their grilled things. Instead, you have salt, pepper, and chili powder. I guess Sambo spoiled me.

Yakimix can, however, boast of their dessert selection. I was really happy when I learned they had a halo-halo section because that assures you of one thing: Leche Flan! I've been in love with the thing since grade school and I was pretty disappointed with Yakimix's try at it. It wasn't as creamy as I had hoped it would be and it was a bit over refrigerated. They made up for it with the chocolate cake, so that's fine.

Lucia joined us for lunch that day and she was starved! She totally made short work of the sisig, shrimp, rice, hotdogs, and several sushi that she had on her plate.

So was it worth the money? I'd say yes. Caleb and Lucia were stuffed and I got to eat the things I wanted. If I don't sound entirely believable, blame my partiality for Sambokojin's wider range of deep fried section. I miss their Salmon Croquet. 

No comments:

Post a Comment