Tuesday, November 1, 2011

All Soul's Day Pigging Out

As the title suggests, I've done little but eaten my way to a possible early grave. Spent most of the day at beloved's house yesterday to keep him company as he took care of his now very active baby dog. Today we had brunch at Army Navy Bicutan Branch (This branch will always have a special place in my heart lol) Taco Tuesday!!

Lots of leg stretching at SMB and discovered that awesome pizza place there. Super cheap and super filling! I can't wait to go back. I got picked up at ATC around 5:30 and I'm now passing the time at Aunt Tish's spot.

During my stay here, I've consumed liempo, roast chicken, and sinigang. Later when we head on over to Manila Memorial, there'll be Mac salad, Potato salad, and Kitty's homemade sugar cookies.

Ugh. Toooootally gained a bunch today. I don't mind though, it's okay to pig out every once and a while. Besides, even if I do gain back the weight I've lost, beloved always tells me I'm beautiful (despite the fact that I'll always never believe him, well, sort of.) and that he loves me more each day. He's a sweetheart, isn't he?

Aunt Tish is getting the final stuff ready and we'll be heading out in a bit. I do miss my grandfather and my aunt. I just wish that I could have visited Magsie but she's in Davao. I'll just light a candle and say a prayer for her when I'm at MM.

I'll always miss you, my Magsie.
-----
So I think we're ready to go. Been talking with beloved all the while, his unli finally got through. Ooops. Totally time to go!

'til next time! ♥

Sunday, October 30, 2011

Twenty-Five

Lo and behold, another year has come and gone! This year's birthday was pretty special. ^___^

I got to spend the whole day (well, weekend) with my baby! A funtastic office party was an awesome prelude to my birthday. I had so much fun with my friends and their creative costumes! Congratulations to James and Airah for winning best costumes! Too bad that I wasn't able to take any photos though. That's okay, the others were certainly busy clicking away so I'll just have to be patient until people start uploading stuff!

It was my first birthday (in a while) that I wasn't just at home. It was certainly refreshing! A night of huggly fun, lunch at Recipes with my love, his lola, and his fairy godmother, fun dinner with the crew, and faces that I haven't seen in a while!

I just hope next weekend's plans pull through. OST really hasn't had a beach adventure yet so I'm sure it'll be fun!

When I got home today, the maids told me an interesting tidbit. Seems like Uncle Aristotle turned into a sweetheart and got me cake, ice cream, and even cooked a birthday dinner for me. I feel bad for missing it but I guess they forgot that I don't really come home on the weekends.

Can't wait to see what flavor cake that is.
----
Oh, before I forget:

Dear God,

Thanks for making Maggie feel better. We were really worried about her. It was a really awesome birthday gift. Thanks!!

-A
----
Oh, Puss In Boots was an interesting watch! The 'goose' was so adorably ugly! It was like staring a pug in the face. Speaking of pugs, ATC had another event for dogs! So I was surrounded by adorable creatures for the whole of my birthday!

Meeting Kail's cousins and his cousin's girlfriend: Jan, was an awesome birthday gift too. It's not often that you meet a bunch of strangers and just click! I look forward to seeing the pics from that one too.

So yeah, totally awesome birthday this year. ♥

Sunday, October 23, 2011

Weekends With You...

...are just breathtaking.

Not much to go on, I know. But I don't really know how else to describe how I feel whenever I think about it. I had tons of fun watching the delight flash in your eyes as we watched Three Musketeers. I'm really glad that you liked the movie I picked out.

I'm grateful that even though I swoon or squee over Dean Winchester, you have the patience to just grin at me and even sulk playfully. Oh, and I adoooooore the preppy skirt you got me! My cousin was drooling over it but she's thankfully backed off from claiming it since I told her it came from you.

Thanks for giving me hugs even when I don't ask for it.
Thanks for holding my hand just because.
Thanks for bullying me into taking care of myself better.

I could go on listing hundreds of stuff that I'm thankful for but I wouldn't have enough space (nor finger strength) for it.

So basically, what it comes down to is, thanks for being you.

Can't wait to see you tomorrow. ♥

Saturday, October 1, 2011

Happy Rainy Day

So there's this storm that's ripping through the country right? Quiel, I think it's called. Don't ask me how they pick the names, all I know is that they're dumb sounding. Although, despite their ridiculous sounding names, never doubt that they can bring such horrible devastation to the more unfortunate locations.

Anyway, I had planned on going to the office today to do some more work and I had completely forgotten that jeeps in the village completely go poof on Saturdays. Like seriously, they're more scarce than clear skin in a high school. So I had already been standing in the corner of Santiago for around 20 minutes when the rain started to pour -- hard. Good thing I had my trusty jacket (yes, Caleb. MY jacket.) and my bright red umbrella. I loooove that umbrella.

So there I was, standing in the pouring rain, listening to the radio through my headset when the music cuts off and my assigned ring tone for him comes on. He was calling to check up on me. It was really sweet. He was heading south to have his weekend lunch with his Lola. So yeah, we talked a bit and agreed that we'd meet at the office. Barely three minutes had passed when he called again to tell me that they were on their way to pick me up since the rain was getting pretty bad. That added a lot of sunshine to an otherwise gloomy day.

Turns out it wasn't over yet. I was to join him and his Lola for lunch! After dropping off that statue of theirs to get repainted, we ended up going to Cafe Mediterranean.I had never tried Hummus before so it was interesting. I ended up loving it! Who'd have thought that gyros were soooo heavy on the tummy? I had their Grilled Tuna Gyro. 'Twas awesome! The only complaint I had was that the pickles were tad bit too salty. Other than that, smother the thing in garlic sauce and you're set!

After lunch and after saying our goodbyes to his Lola, we had wandered around town like we always do. My eyes were in for a treat! There were adorable doggies everywhere!!! Apparently town was holding one of their monthly dog paradise thingies. I was so happy when I saw that there were Chow-chows all over the place!! I do adore the breed with their super weird blue tongues!

I loved watching the rain. It was so calming. Somewhere around the evening, upon the insistence of my cousin, we went home to hang out and have dinner. It was super fun! So now, he's at the office and I"m at home, blogging to my heart's content.

So despite the stormy day, it was utterly perfect. (Yes, I do still think it was perfect even with the little tiff that happened.) Can't wait for Monday already. ♥

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Bee's Wax. Your Own. Mind It, Why Don't You?

I'm a firm believer of live and let live. I don't particularly care what you do with your own time provided that you aren't being a nuisance. That's generally how I operate. I keep to myself and stay out of everyone else's business. Less friction that way. Of course should the social niceties be necessary, I do what I can to make sure there's an easy flow to things.

In the office setting like mine, much interaction isn't really necessary. It is welcome, sure but one can survive without talking to anyone at all. Correspondence is done through email. The person that you'll most likely talk to a lot is either your seatmate or your team leader. People do keep to themselves. But no, my feathers just had to be ruffled today. If there is anything I dislike the most it is when people stick their noses where they don't belong.

I don't go about commenting on what other people do. What gives you the right to comment on what I do? Bakit, naiistorbo ba namin kayo? Dun ba kami sa harapan niyo nagkukulitan? Affected ba ang output niyo? *takes a deep breath*

What I dislike is when:
1.) You meddle in my affairs.
2.) When you have a problem with me, you do not approach me about it.

Seriously, what is up with that? Bleargh. Yeah, that's right. BLEARGH! Wag naman kayong masyadong affected dyan.
-------
Meh. Enough of that crap. Today was pretty good. I managed to do a lot of work and I don't feel tired at all. My body clock is used to waking up around 7 am and that's just fine with me. Personally, I do like the fact that I commute to work. I get to walk 6 blocks to Madrigal every morning that makes sure that I'm awake and alive for work. My legs are back in shape!! Woo!

So yes, despite the daily attempts at fuckery that life throws at me, I still have it pretty awesome. So I can't really complain. I'm quite thankful for all the little things. Y'know things like:

  • Being gifted with Choco Mallows so early in the day (Thank you, Caleb. I still haven't eaten that Meji Black you gave me yesterday. Remind me to eat that.)
  • My dad giving me a call (while I was at work) just to make yabang that he has hardbound copies of A Game of Thrones and its succeeding books.
  • My kuya giving me a call twice (still while I was at work) to make a bit of small talk about his apparently successful fishery.
  • My cousin Joanne giving me a call (I do tend to get a lot of phone calls while at work, yes?) to say that she'll be passing by for me at the office so I have a ride home.
  • Scrumptious dinner waiting for me at the table.
  • Internet time. (Despite the fact that FB's new layout totally bugs the hell outta me.)
So yeah, I have tons to be thankful for. :)

Sunday, September 18, 2011

Jessa Turns Eighteen!

Finally managed to gather enough energy to make this post. I'm totally tuckered out but I have the biggest grin on my face! I had just finished saying my goodbyes to Caleb and sent him on his way to play some Clix in town. So now I'm just laying in bed, recovering my strength. My feet totally hurt but I don't mind it in the least! Yesterday, instead of a usual caffeinated Saturday, the crew and I went to Tavern in BF for Jessa's 18th birthday party.

I really like Tavern's ambiance. Already went there before for that Rap Battle thing that Von and Crystal were handling. We didn't get to stay though, had to get out of there before CJ's laughter couldn't be held in anymore. Their buffet was good! The sweet and sour fish was really my pick of the night. I had poor Caleb go and grab me some seconds! (Thank you, btw. You were such a sweetheart about it too) I totally liked the company that Jessa got for her photobooth. The company's name is Cob's Photo Toy Box. I really liked their service! The props are adorable and their printing is very efficient! Also, upload time is so fast! They have a guarantee that your photos will be uploaded the same day after the event. Isn't that just grand? So speaking of photos, here are some of me and the crew!

It was a lot of fun! Jessa's dad is a kwela guy. Now I know where Jessa gets her kulit from! Happy Birthday, Jessa! Have many more to come! ♥

Monday, September 12, 2011

Some Thoughts Before Goodnight

Yeah, like this thing says, I'll be going to bed in a bit. I just couldn't resist making a post since I haven't written anything in a while. I was reading back on the previous entry and it seems that I've broken one of my blogging rules. I had promised a long time ago to never write while upset. Then again, if I didn't I wouldn't have the chance to be as honest as I am during those times. Emotion isn't exactly pretty. It all depends on who's looking at it, I suppose. Anger may make others cringe but to those who think it is justified, it isn't that bad. Happiness could make some feel the same way. So if we shouldn't let emotions take over when we're sad (lest we end up doing stupid things), does that same protocol also apply when we're in the throes of great happiness?
------
While walking home tonight, I came upon a Korean family taking a night stroll. It was lovely to see a husband holding hands with his wife while keeping a watchful eye on their children. A girl and a younger boy. It reminded me of my family before Mattie was born; we had needed to take strolls then for mother's health (her OB had told her she needed to walk to help ease the forthcoming delivery). It was fun seeing them and a bit melancholic on my end since those days have obviously come and gone. So now I can only look forward to doing that when I have my own family.
------
Office was fun today. Renovations had been sort of done so seating was a free for all. Although it isn't permanent, I'm very happy that I get to be beside you. Yes, even if we weren't able to talk on the phone tonight, I'm still very happy. (You really do need your rest, you worrywart.)
------
Tomorrow is another day. More walking (Yay for exercise!), more work (yay for money!), and more you (♥).

Wednesday, September 7, 2011

Yesterday, Today, and Tomorrow

I had wanted to make a post about yesterday but Alain's net stick was mucking up, so here I am with yesterday's news -- well, today. Yesterday, my kuya had mentioned that he had wanted to run some errands in town like paying Metrobank for his NSO birth cert (which should arrive soon or else I'm going to have to be the one to follow it up.), book a ticket to Davao, and renew his license. Bon had taken her car out early in the morning so it looked like it was a commute for us. I didn't mind, I'm used to it. (I'm rather fond of walking.) Kuya was a bit apprehensive of it, I suppose. It had rained unexpectedly so our trip was slightly delayed but as soon as the skies had cleared, we were off. The commute had turned out to be a full-on walk-a-thon to town. (Good thing I wore flip-flops!)

We got to Metrobank just in time for another huge downpour. After that one, we stayed a while at Starbucks where kuya treated me to my fave. It was odd for me to realize that I really had nothing to say to him. He was doing all the talking. When he had run out of things to say, he started to play with his phone. I have had more conversation with Mattie than my brother. I realize that each time kuya wanted to talk, it was just that: him talking and me listening.

Anyway, the rain had stopped a bit and crossed the street to BPI then headed to the 3rd floor to get his ticket booked. He'll be going back to Davao on Friday. Am I going to be taking him to the airport? No. I've been thoroughly desensitized with my family's comings and goings. After that, Bon picked us up for grocery shopping at Festival. Then dinner at a little hole in the wall Jap place by Save More.
-----
Today. There wasn't much that had happened today other than talking with him on the phone. A discussion about my ambition (which is apparently nonexistent), my passion (which is apparently fleeting), and my total apparent deadma to having the things I want taken from me. Taken away by what is, according to you, irrelevant. So, okay.

I had wanted to be a figure skater so I had taken up ballet and soon after a bit of gymnastics but certain events that had happened made that plan into a bust. I still loved to dance so after moving to Davao, I kept at it until I realized that it bought unwarranted attention so that was a bust. Soon after, I tried my hand at competitive swimming. I found that I was very good at it but my school at the time, forbade me from ever joining any competition that did not represent them so that was also a bust.

I took time off from everything and realized that what I did want most was to be a mom and a wife. I wanted to have my own happy family by the time I hit twenty-five. I actually thought that I was going to get it since I got engaged and was on the family way. For the first time in a very long time, I thought I was finally going to get something I wanted. Then the miscarriage happened. Months after that, the engagement/relationship ended.

So you tell me. What should I strive for at this point? After a lifetime of everything I wanted going up in flames before my eyes, how are you going to tell me that I shouldn't give up? How can you tell me that I shouldn't just accept things being taken away when it's all that I've been able to do? Who are you to tell me things when we both know there's a 'possibility' of you going away. There's a very real possibility of you being another thing that I want that's 'taken' away. What do you expect me to do? Beg you to stay? I give myself freely and never ask a thing in return. What more do you want from me...?
-----
I have no idea what tomorrow may bring me. Frankly, I don't think of it much. I live for today. Things may come, things may go. All I'm left with is me.

Monday, September 5, 2011

Revamp

It's been a while since I updated the look of this blog. I'm sure that so much more could be done with it but I find myself contented with how it appears presently. I woke up early today. It was an entirely pleasant thing to be woken up by a gentle breeze, the delightful chirping of birds, and the gentle warmth of the sun on my face. I sit in my little corner after fixing up my bed and lighting up a tea candle beneath the little bowl where I placed a few drops of vanilla oils and some water.

I sit quietly as I watch the comings and goings of my brother and my cousins. They do, after all, have to make their daily stop in my bathroom for their morning ablutions. My bathroom having the only working heater (for now) puts the pressure that my room must always be orderly. Mahirap na. Baka may masabi pa diba? I thank my cousin Joanne for lending me some splendid curtains for my room. She also took the time to arrange things that met the approval of the uncles.

There must be some distinct pleasure for her in arranging the little and big things. Suffice to say that this entry's tone is much affected by my reading of Jane Austen's Sense and Sensibility. (Thank you, Caleb for getting me a copy! I'll treasure it most dearly.) It has been a while since I've just sat down, stared out the window, and reflected upon my life. I daresay that my life so far has been a far pleasant affair despite the conundrums that have occurred thus far. Right now I'm just leaning against my favorite wall, with my eyes closed, listening to my father's voice as he converses with my elder brother downstairs. The architecture of this house was done in such a way that the family could contact each other quite easily. I suppose there is much to be desired with regard to the family's privacy; it being so easily accessible to anyone who would place their eyes upon the catwalk.

No matter. This house has been in the family for years and years. It has certainly seen a huge chunk of the drama that has unfolded through the years. Oh, if only these walls could talk! What secrets would they share?

Last night, the family gathered to read grandmother's last will and testament. It was certainly...intense. To be sure, the Hodreals are a dynamic bunch. They could never be in one place too long without tempers flaring or there be an issue being born. I am thankful to be part of the new generation wherein communication is no problem. All the cousins certainly go out of their way to reach out and talk to each other. We've certainly done our share in getting along.

I find myself truly fortunate despite everything. I have come out stronger from all my trials. I find myself to be in a precious scenario where I love passionately and am loved quite equally in return.

Things can only get better from here.

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Chapters

It has certainly been a while since I last posted in my blog. It has certainly been a much longer duration since I've posted from my old room. Yes, currently I am surrounded by piles and piles of clothing yet to be stashed away in my cabinets. I have recently moved back into the family home. I've certainly missed Alabang with it's quiet and breezy nights. So many memories are held by these walls.

Lest I be distracted, I best be straight to some of the points that I've wanted to make. I broke up with Boogie 2 months ago today. It's been my constant reality but I suppose actually moving back home cemented the fact. I'm very happy where I am now. I suppose my only regret is that I had to hurt him to get to where I am.

So much has happened lately. Breaking up, moving on, death in the family, and moving out. It's been a week and a day since my grandmother passed away. I do not find it odd that I have not shed a single tear over it. Grandmother and I weren't exactly on the best of terms a lot of the time. All my cousins cried saying that no matter what had happened she was still our grandmother and that if it wasn't for her, I wouldn't be here.

That does have some truth to it, I suppose. Does that mean I should have let her get away with what she's done? The act of giving birth to my father gave her license to muck around with everyone's lives? I suppose I could be called 'walang utang na loob' but to be quite frank, I earned everything I was ever 'given'.

Wherever you are grandmother, I hope you have a grand time watching everything you've 'accomplished'.

This is the only time I'm ever going to write about you.
---
On a happier note, I know we spent most of the day talking but I miss you already. :)

Saturday, July 16, 2011

Big Update

I had planned to write in more detail certain events that had transpired over the past few weeks. However, it seems that laziness has taken over for today. So until that time where I actually feel like doing so, this post will have to do. So what have I done over the past few weeks?

April 21-23: Sagada. I went with friends to Sagada. It was my 2nd trip there. I didn't get to do much, I even had a mishap (twisted ankle). It was fun though!

May 7: I met up with Nadine and her mother at Starbucks Madrigal. It was so much fun to talk to her again, even if girl talk was on lock down. Later that night, me and the rest of the Caffeinated Saturday crew went to Ishin. After that, we headed to Shell Magallanes.

May 14: The crew and I went to Boogie's favorite Pares place.

May 29: I watched Pirates of the Caribbean 4. Yay mermaids!

May 30: Some drama about loans. Old issue. Long dead.

May 31: Some drama from my brother's apparently psychotic ex-girlfriend. Wow.

June 2: I went to the office and got my new contract. After that, I had dinner at Racks with Kail and Boogie. Our car broke down so we spent the night chatting the night away at Petron. :)

June 4: Boogie and I joined a seminar in our church. One for Life. To see if we were truly suited for each other. After that, we went to Edric's house for his birthday celebration.

June 7-8: My company's summer outing. A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! ♥

June 18: Watched Green Lantern with Lucia and the crew. I was so happy to have had girl talk!

June 19: Went to Enchanted Kingdom with Earl, Von, and Kail. Such a breath of fresh air.

June 25: I think this one needs its own entry.

So there. That's what I've been up to so far. The events of these days will be elaborated on in the next entry. Ü

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Queen of Imus

Church is always special. You learn different things each time you enter it's doors. Yesterday's church, we were joined by our friend Donna. I swear Antonio has developed a massive crush on her. After church, I took Donna with us to our usual Sunday habit of having dinner at my Aunt Tish's place at Citadella.
I've always wanted them to meet since I was certain that Aunt Tish could share a lot of lessons with the still grasping about Donna. I was right. They clicked instantly. After dinner, Donna and I wanted Froyo but it was pretty late so she talked us into going to Imus, Cavite. She says she knows a place that serves great blueberry cheesecakes and mango crepes. I was so in!

I've never been to that place and it kinda scared me but I had tons of fun anyway. I totally love the mango crepe and the raspberry iced tea was divine! We dropped Donna off and we were already texting each other about the next trips we were gonna make! ♥

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Caleb's Post Birthday Celebration

Earl had gone to Singapore for the previous weekend to watch the theater performance of The Lion King. I wanted to go too, but I wasn't able to fix my passport and other stuff. It's okay though, there's always future opportunities!

So since we weren't able to have a Caffeinated Saturday, we decided to have a Caffeinated Monday instead. You just have to love our jobs that allowed us to vacation whenever we wanted! So we had dinner at Shakey's, Earl was telling us about his Singapore trip and I was happily wolfing down the mojos!

After dinner, we headed down to Frutti Froyo for some dessert! When the yogurt was all gone, we still didn't want to go home. So we did what we do best: Roadtrip!

We headed to Tagaytay, guided by Earl's sarcastic and evil GPS. I swear that thing hates us. LOL

The trip there was pretty exciting with roads that had no streetlights, suddenly realizing that we were counter flowing, and us making up ghost stories. We went to Tagaytay because we wanted coffee. We ascended upon Starbucks Tagaytay until the place closed then we went to Green ATS, our other usual hang out place when we were there.

Their menu had the weirdest knack of serving up Coconut in different forms: as a viand and a drink. Still though, it was an awesome trip!

Saturday, April 16, 2011

Hana Night 2: Makati

Much like the previous Hana Night, this entry comes the day after the event. Hana had wanted to meet up again and she wanted to take us to ChicBoy in Makati. She says that it's a lot better than the Alabang branch.

Again, we forget to take pictures. LOL

A little ways before 11pm we headed on to Edubox and we waited a little bit longer this time since Hana was the one to close off the office. My heart went out to her. It was a Friday, so you'd think people would be dying to go out and party. However, what we saw were some of the employees just hanging out and smoking with their belongings still inside.

I've been to that kind of schedule and that kind of work, I understand the need to relax and unwind with friends. But couldn't they at least take their stuff with them so that the bosses could head home? Oh well, to each his own.

So after Hana closed off the office, we headed to Makati. While in the car, we downloaded any info or happenings that had occurred since the last time we hung out.

We got to ChicBoy and we met up with Richard there. Man of few words, that one. We kept picking on B since he had the urge to go to the loo but wasn't really willing to. Richard seemed nice but he really gave off an aloof sort of vibe. I suppose people just come with their own habits and personalities. Ü

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Burgers and Froyo

Caleb had insisted on a dinner. He had wanted to take me and B to Army Navy and Frutti Froyo.

So it was just me, Kail, and B!

B and I haven't been there since they were developed a bit of a ways after we had flown to Davao. Army N
avy was an interesting joint. It was pretty cramped for my taste but hey, anything new is worth experiencing unless it's like drugs or stuff like that. LOL

We had burgers and nachos! Me, being me, of course I played around with my food first.

After dinner, I wanted dessert. So Kail had us go next door for some Frutti Froyo. I remember not being too fond of Yogurt. I didn't like the sour taste but I was assured that it wouldn't taste anything like that at all. I was a bit apprehensive but the moment I saw the Vanilla and Chocolate flavored yogurt, I was SOLD! I'm nutter for those two particular flavors. I particularly liked how you paid per weight so you can control what you spend. Instead of places like White Hat where an itty bitty cup would cost over 200 pesos.Laughter was endless and stories were abound. I had so much fun! After everything, we drove Kail home. Thanks for the treat!! ♥

Saturday, April 9, 2011

A Very Merville Wedding

The event of yesterday was originally the reason why B and I flew back to Manila: Edric & Aiza's Wedding!

It seems that the Merville boys were at the right age where they were, one by one, getting bitten by the matrimony bug. B was one of the groomsmen so I made sure that he was dressed accordingly. Our day had an early start since Edric wanted us to be present for the photoshoot. I already had this nagging feeling that B and I would be the first ones there again; true enough, we were.

We went up to the groom's room at the Mandarin Hotel and joked around like old times. Tito Eddy was kind enough to buy some Subway sandwiches for us. Edric seemed very composed and not at all worried or nervous. One by one, the Merville boys arrived. Soon, it seemed that we wouldn't all fit in the room. I was so happy to see the girls again. Too bad that Maleen couldn't be there, she had just gi
ven birth and was at the hospital. Martin, though, would be in attendance as he was the Best Man.

There were so many photographers and they were taking so many shots it was like being surrounded by bees. Instead of the familiar buzzing sound, it would be 'clickclickclickclickclickclick'. It was incessant.

Soon we were all headed to Santuario de San Antonio. I knew it sounded familiar! It was where my cousin Joseph got married. It was also where my grandaunt's wake and final services were held. The service was lovely overall despite the priest's Anti-RH ramble. Dude. Seriously? I was introduced to B's cousin Amanda. She seemed to be an affable young lady. She looked like she was pretty happy to meet me. So, yay!After the wedding, it was time to PARTY! We all left the church to head to The Loft at Rockwell. The food was incredible! Apparently, Rosalie Valera did the catering. I have heard nothing but good things about her and her cooking. I'm sure the Merville people were happy. Nica and I took advantage of the photobooth! We stayed until the morning but did not follow to the after party. B and I were so tuckered out!

Congratulations, Edric and Aiza!! ♥

Thursday, April 7, 2011

Hana Night

Technically, this post is for yesterday's happening. It happened so late in the day, though, which is why I had to make this entry for this morning.

In the weeks before heading to Manila, B and I may have let it slip to a few people who weren't in OST that we were coming back. One of such people was B's good friend Hana Lee. I met Hana around December 2008, she was my neighbor for a while when I rented my own apartment. She seemed very nice and I wanted to get to know her a bit better. Fortunately, fate (Facebook, Twitter, and Tumblr) was kind enough to facilitate the getting-to-know-you process.

We had kept some contact even before flying to Davao. She was quite aware about Magsie and the other details. When she had heard that B and I were flying back, she was super excited to meet up and hangout.

Hana's job ended at 11 pm. So B and I headed on over to Edubox to pick her up and we all decided to hit up B's favorite Pares place. It was so much fun catching up on the details of the past year.

I admire how Hana knows what she wants and knows how to get it. That's something that not all females are capable of. That night was also pretty informative. Hana told us the version of the 2008 drama fest that she heard.

So I realized that the truth is like a song, there's always a remix. We were pretty shocked at the extent of the lies but we weren't exactly surprised. So that night, B did for the first time what he tried hard to avoid: tell the whole truth; the specific and exact events that he was subjected to.

I was surprised at how large Hana's eyes could get. She also let us in on certain information that left us laughing our butts off. Around 4 or so, we drove her home.

All in all it was a really good night. Plans have been made for a next hang out session!
----------
Oh, and if *you* happen to come across this entry, I only have one thing to say to you: If lying about everything is the only way you could gather allies and sympathizers, I pity you.

Saturday, April 2, 2011

Almost A Year

As we had agreed, B and I did not tell anyone that we were heading back to Manila. We wanted to surprise our friends by just dropping by our usual haunt. Turns out that we were the ones that were almost the ones that were surprised! When B and I got to ATC, Earl wasn't there. He was in Casimiro: jamming with his band. Kail and CJ were somewhere around town.

In my usual fashion, I was nearly out of load so B and I had to twaddle to the 2nd level of town to get my phone loaded up. We had tried contacting Earl to get a feel as to where Kail and CJ were exactly since we didn't want the two to realize that we were here. In the end, we had to tell Earl that we were indeed back (poor planning on my part, really.) He immediately called up the other two to pinpoint their exact location. Earl also said that he was heading to CJ's later.

So after being reunited with CJ and Kail at the steps a little ways from Coffee Bean, we made plans to head to CJ's house. I haven't been there since the OST Christmas Party of 2009, so I was pretty happy. Kail moved his Xbox 360 to CJ's so there was a night of gaming ahead.

Moral of the tale? Do make sure that the people you plan to surprise don't end up surprising you! Plans. Plans. Plans.


Friday, April 1, 2011

Manila Bound

It was a rather hectic day! As the title suggests, B and I are heading to Manila for a summer full of fun and friends under the sun. B and I opted to go through Cebu Pacific since it was cheaper a lot of the time. I'm still not used to it. I'm a spoiled Philippine Airlines Business Class baby. So it was interesting to make use of other airlines.

The day started pretty early since Daddy wanted to have a lunch with his kids. He dropped by super early. He was supposed to show up around noon but he was already there around 8 am. Not that I'm complaining! It's just that I hadn't had the opportunity to sleep yet (yes, I don't sleep at night) so I took a quick snooze and woke up at 10 to get ready. At first I just thought that we'd head to Pancake House. I always loved their waffles. Still, it can't compare to Waffle House and their huge servings of peanut butter, cream, and syrup.

Daddy wondered why I picked Pancake House, so I said that I thought that was what everyone wanted. Turns out, everyone wanted meat. Big meat. So my dreams of waffles were crushed and we headed to Bigby's. I'm still happy though. I got to munch on their yummy salad and a big rack of ribs. YUM!

Lunch was relatively quiet though, in usual Hodreal fashion, conversation would only pick up when the end of the meal was over. We had tons of laughs aside from the bloated bellies.

As the sun had set, B and I made sure that everything that we needed was all packed and accounted for. Ni-chan and Mattie drove us to the airport. Whenever Mattie would say good-bye, I still feel the tug at my heartstrings. The process for check-in was still fluid. B and I were already seated on our favorite table at the cafe that we always went to whenever in the Davao Airport. I wanted to cry blood at the prices of the food that they were selling. Well, I was hungry and I forgot to have dinner so it was Ham and Cheese for me. I swear that sandwich should have been sprinkled with gold or something to compensate for what they were charging us with. Bleargh.

The flight was delayed for about 20 minutes. Lots of people complained but I was used to it. The last time we flied Cebu Pacific, it was delayed for a couple of hours. One thing I still can't get over is that they sell you food mid-flight. That is where PAL beats them hands down.

I don't remember much of the flight since I just snoozed away. When I woke up, it was time for landing already. B was super excited to see his mom. I was just happy to see the twinkling lights of Manila. ♥

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Dante's Inferno and Sucker Punch

Today, my brother wanted to drown his troubles in movies. He had gotten a copy of Dante's Inferno: An Animated Epic and he and I stuck into my laptop and prepared ourselves for the story that was made familiar to us by the game Dante's Inferno. It was incredible! The tale was divided into several parts and the animated style was rather strikingly different with each part of the tale.

It certainly was a visual feast. It was action packed and it remained mostly faithful to the story. I, for the life of me, cannot conceive what Hell would look like, or what the different circles of Hell is like. This animated epic truly portrayed each circle to the best of its capability. It's a nice gory distraction from one's life.


Also, in the course of the day, Kuya wanted to see Sucker Punch again. At first he and Mattie saw it but he wanted to see it again so this time, myself, B, and mother came along. We all trotted to NCCC, got the tickets, snacks, and went into the theater. I'm surprised that we weren't escorted out as we were all so noisy. So Sucker Punch is the story of a young woman who was institutionalized by her greedy step-father. I will go on the record and state that the first scenes of the movie made me cry. No, seriously. The scenario was just so sad!! The song was also hauntingly suitable.


However, that's where my involvement to the story ended. The other scenes that came afterward were just a giant WTF in my book. It was something else, sure. It was visually captivating, yes. Did it make sense? I'm not sure it was meant to. The entire scene with the Dragon just screamed I ripped off Harry Potter. It was just all eerily familiar with the Dragon scene in Harry Potter: The Goblet of Fire.

So in the end, my brain labeled Sucker Punch as Inception with Vaginas.

I was still a fun family day though. Ü

Sunday, March 27, 2011

Green Leafy Day (again)

Last week, I had Spicy Tuna Salad as my E.K.S. subject. It turns out that my mother loved it so much that she specifically asked for it today. Of course, she insisted that certain things be tweaked from my original recipe. It's cool by me! After all, I made E.K.S. for the sake of my family.

Most of the same ingredients were used. I truly love how Eden Nature Park sends down their greens to the local markets. I just have to make a mental note to go to the grocers a lot earlier to get the freshest ingredients. However, going later in the day would make for a more pleasant and quick trip as there would be significantly less people. So I suppose it just really depends on what your priorities are: fresh ingredients or a much more hassle-less trip.

So what's different in today's mixture? I did not make use of cabbages today, instead I just added more romaine lettuce and cucumbers. Oh, I also cubed the cheese rather than grating them; I also added hard boiled eggs to today's salad too.

Mum was definitely happy. I wasn't able to take a picture of the ingredients since mum demanded a rush job. It was really fun! B and Mattie were on hand to help me. As I was cleaning and chopping the veggies, B was boiling the eggs and making the tuna mix, and Mattie was making the croutons. Again, I miss having a pet bunny as I look at the number of leaves that weren't used in the mix.

I don't know why I didn't make use of any sort of oil to mix my salad. I think I just prefer it that way. Also, I made sure to store the chopped up ingredients in different bowls/containers. The leafy greens and tomatoes were together. The cheese, tuna, cucumbers, and eggs had their own bowls. I don't want to make B and Mattie eat the veggies or ingredients that they don't want to. Sure, I put a little bit into their servings but not so much. To me, enjoying the meal is also as important as what goes into the meal.

I want them to eat the stuff I make with smiles on their faces and not grimaces. I think that is something that most people forget as they slam the 'it's good for you' argument in your face.

Again I've yet to find little cookie cutters with different shapes (for the croutons). Oh well, that doesn't mean I'll stop trying to find it! So anyway, I did manage to take a pic of the finished product! Here it is:


I wonder if I'll be able to continue with my E.K.S. next Sunday. Oh well like we Filipinos always say: Pag gusto may paraan! Pag ayaw laging may dahilan. Here's to hoping that I'm the former and not the latter. ♥

Saturday, March 26, 2011

Lights Out: Earth Hour

At precisely 8:30 pm of this day, a lot of lights went out. It wasn't a scheduled power outage as we in the Philippines have come to get used to. It was in support of Earth Hour. This lovely event was organized by WWF (World Wildlife Fund) that simply asks everyone to turn off their lights and other electrical appliances for 60 minutes. All this is aimed towards the hope of raising even more awareness about the need for immediate action regarding climate change.

It is nice that a lot of establishments in Davao City participated in the event. It just makes me wonder, after the said hour and people return to their usual routines...has anything actually changed? Are people really more aware about the precarious situation our world's climate is in? Do they even care?

Earth Hour is a lovely idea but seems too commercialized to be effective. I mean sure, you participate in it, you seem to care about the environment...then what? What happens next?

Awareness is all and good. I'm all for it. I just wish there was something more. Oh well, time to start on the research.

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Movies

Today my elder brother made good on his promise to go watch a movie with me, B, and Mattie. Ni-chan has been quite preoccupied due to unfortunate circumstances (I'm thinking of making an entry about it but maybe on a latter date when my head has managed to cool). So my boys and I headed down to NCCC Mall to catch Battle: Los Angeles. It's been a while since I've been to the cinemas and it's been even longer since an army/alien movie caught my fancy.

So let's see: A Marine Staff Sergeant who has just had his retirement approved goes back into the line of duty in order to assist a 2nd Lieutenant and his platoon as they fight to reclaim the city of Los Angeles from alien invaders. (www.imdb.com)

The trailer was good, that's why I initially wanted to see this movie. I certainly enjoyed it! Although, the camera movements were rather erratic and at times I had to squint or look away to avoid getting dizzy. I suppose that's the director's way of trying to share what soldiers in the line of fire go through. I'm certain it's much worse.

I was really glad that Michelle Rodriguez was there. I always loved it when she's onscreen. It's just getting pretty obvious that she's stuck in the same generic role of a tough girl with a pretty face. So, basically, if you're trying to find depth from this movie, you won't find it. There's the 'moment' where the main character gives the 'get on with it/empowerment speech'. So I'm trying to find how this movie differs from Independence Day. Well, I suppose in this movie, the aliens were more obvious about why they came. I just wondered how the scientists in this film managed to realize that they were after our water, or that the sea levels were receding, and such things.

Practically, it raises a lot of questions. However, if you're just out for a good distraction with popcorn and side comments, this movie is perfect for you.

I'm surprisingly looking forward to the 4th Pirates movie for one single reason: Mermaids. I'm a nutter for anything with mermaids in it! Also, B showed me the trailer for Friends With Benefits. It stars Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis. The trailer is hilarious and I look forward to watching that as well. Looks like the summer is looking bright!

Sunday, March 20, 2011

Green Leafy Day

As expected today is another Experimental Kitchen Sunday! I was rather lazy this week and did not do any research as to what recipes I could do for this week. It wasn't until yesterday that the muse hit me. In usual me fashion, I woke up around noon or so and was immediately hit by hunger. I was much too sleepy to cook so I do what any of us would do: raid the fridge.

There was bread, mayonnaise tomatoes in the fridge. There was spicy tuna in the cupboards. So I decided to make myself spicy tuna and tomatoes sandwich. It was scrumptious! My little brother Mattie liked it so much that he actually finished off the loaf of bread. It wasn't often that Mattie liked anything healthy. So I made my mind up to try my hand at making Salad. Foolproof right?

So it was settled. This week's subject would be Spicy Tuna Salad.

It was a fairly quick trip to the grocers, having most of my ingredients in the fridge already. All that was missing was more cans of spicy tuna, tomatoes, bread, cabbage and some Romaine Lettuce. I kept in mind that my boys (B and Mattie) aren't big fans of the leafy greens. So I endeavored to keep the salad as basic and as non-herbivore friendly.

Here are the ingredients that I used:


Really easy to find, right? I made sure that only the leaves were included. As I was cutting up the leaves, I was hit by a pang of nostalgia about my ol' pet bunny. It was such a waste to just throw away the parts that I wasn't going to use and I dreadfully wished that I had a pet bunny again that could do away with the throwaways.

So I placed all the vegetables + the tomatoes (tomatoes are fruits after all) together in one container and I mixed up the spicy tuna in another bowl. That would be good so the oils from the tuna won't seep into the veggies and make them soggy. I whipped up the tuna with a bit of mayo and pepper.

Oh, in case you were wondering what the bread was for: I was trying to aim for a below 300 spending for today so instead of buying croutons, I decided to make my own from scratch.

Usually croutons would be baked or fried but I was too lazy for that; so the next best thing was to make use of the toaster. Just remember to cut out and/or eat the edges before tossing them into the toaster. When they're all nice and tough, just cut them into little squares. I wonder if I can find little cookie cutters that come in different shapes? I want my future croutons to be appealing to kids so I can have my future kids eat them with a happy smile.

So anyway, this is my finished product:


My boys gobbled it all up in a hurry! I was so happy. Even mum (who's
kinda picky about her food) loved it. She said, and I quote: "I don't mind if you feed this to me everyday. Oh, whip me up a batch so I can take it to work." I've come to translate the phrase 'take it to work' as 'I will show it off to my friends'. Hey, I'm not complaining.

Sadly I wasn't able to put in hard boiled eggs in my salad. Mum said she wanted to add cucumbers too. So I guess my salad will have new ingredients introduced to it as I make it. ♥

Saturday, March 19, 2011

Beliefs and Reconnaissance Through Twitter

For anyone who cares, today is the given date for the discussion/town meeting of Ayala Alabang Village. On the agenda: their Ordinance that has garnered so much public interest. Normally, I'd attend such meetings in a heartbeat, particularly since it does discuss something that is quite troubling and relative to everyone one that will be governed by it. Since it is my misfortune to be in Davao (my trip to Manila won't be until 2 weeks from now), I find myself trying to scrounge up as much information as I can.

Fortunately for me, the social networking/microblogging website Twitter was an avenue that was more than helpful in my mission. Thanks to the the accounts of Elizabeth Angsioco, Ruffy Biazon, Filipino Freethinkers, and concerned residents like Andrei Gonzales
that I was able to get some sort of idea at how the meeting went.

So it boiled down to pretty much an appeal to morality by pro-ordinance and a severe pelting of logic and facts by the anti-ordinance. The pro-ordinance recruited Nene Pimentel to try and infuse politics into the simple human rights issue that is hit by this ordinance. Sen. Pimentel did a good job of trying to muddle issues and inject significantly irrelevant details as pointed out by @drei_gonzales.


It is frustrating how they tried to inject politics into this. The ordinance is mainly about the rights of the residents. Whether or not they want to be subjected to such rules and restrictions. For anyone who hasn't read the entirety of the ordinance, feel free to go to Ms. Lea Salonga's website. She made a blog entry about the ordinance and provided a copy of it. You could look at her blog entry here.

Also it seems that Sen. Pimentel tickled the ire of @ruffybiazion.
Where does Nene Pimentel live anyway? This ordinance is to be decided upon by AAV residents. Pimentel's input is welcome however he ought to have kept in mind that he is a guest to a discussion about an ordinance that he won't even be under.

@bethangsioco made it clear that the pro-ordinance side once again gave such...inspired and logical reasoning to support their sid
e.

The talks were smooth and everything was orderly. It was reported that most of the pro-ordinance side were nuns and elderly people. While it was nice that a lot of people are concerned about this, it is saddening that our elders aren't looking out for today's youth. Do they really want to have their kids just indulge in uneducated and unprotected sex and just say 'Hey, at least we're protecting the rights of the unborn child that could very possibly be born from this!'

I just sigh whenever I think of these events. So the AAV council has 3 options. 1.) Edit and resubmit their ordinance. 2.) Abandon the ordinance. And, 3.) Keep their ordinance as is.

I am glad that AAV is taking steps to develop an ordinance that they think will come in the best interest of their people. It's just that, well, next time, I hope they think things through a bit more. AAV isn't a wholly Catholic village, after all.

Sunday, March 13, 2011

Experimental Kitchen Sunday!

So today is another experimental kitchen Sunday! I am very rested and very excited for today's subject. I decided to make Chicken Lollipops with Honey, Lemon, and Ginger Sauce. I decided to not do groceries as NCCC and try SM Davao's grocery for a change. They've always been proud of their "We've got it all for you" slogan and I wanted to put them to the test.

Consider me, a loyal fan now, SM. I was truly blown away at how orderly, gigantic, well-stocked, and professionally staffed you are. It took me and B less than 30 minutes to locate everything that we needed. All the aisles were labeled well and were made in a way that was certainly friendly for those with eye problems. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They were certainly knowledgeable as where everything was, they'd even direct you to which brand would be best or which would be more budget friendly.

B was certainly happy, he got himself a bottle of Kimchi. I loved how their poultry section already had ready made chicken lollipops that weren't expensive. I have to say I am happiest when I'm strolling through the aisles of markets and groceries. I am always fascinated at the different colors, smells, and most of all, the possibilities. I am always enthralled at how with just a handful of items, one could create something entirely different for those around them. So anyway, on to the discussion of today's subject.

The ingredients are as follows:
Chicken lollipops with skin on, seasoned with salt (or fish sauce) and pepper
A thumb-sized piece of ginger
Juice of one lemon 4 to 6 tbsps. of honey
2 tbsps. of finely sliced onion leaves, for garnish (this one is optional)

The recipe was easy enough to make. It did not require much effort nor was it much of a hassle. It did, however, point out the very glaring issue of my lack of item required to achieve certain parts of the recipe. (I lack a juicer) So I had to turn to B's brute strength to tide us through. I thought it was just a waste though but at least I now know that lemons will always be within reach. I still am on the quest to find a grocery that sells chicken fillets. It is either that, or I break open the knife set that my dad got and do the fillets myself. That's an adventure for another time.

This recipe is one of those 'serve instantly' kind of things. Also, it would be best if after cooking the chicken, you slice them up a bit and drizzle the sauce over it. That way, the flavor seeps into the meat really well.

Here's my finished product:I certainly had fun in this week's subject. I've yet to decide on what next week's subject will be but research is more than half the fun! ♥

Saturday, March 12, 2011

Pampering and Word Games

I thought that B's monthsary plans were limited to just the day itself but I find myself to be pleasantly incorrect. It turns out that he took the time to research as to which salons offer good foot spa services. I seem to vaguely have a conversation in which I had mentioned that I wanted to save up for a foot spa since I haven't undergone a treatment in quite a while. I guess he took that conversation to heart. Well if I was going to be spoiled, I insisted that B and my little brother, Mattie go have sessions too.

It wasn't far from the house, it only took us around 5 minutes to get there. We stopped by the Minute Burger station at the corner of Juna to grab a quick lunch. It was quite challenging as Matt and I have never been to such places before. Thankfully, B was there to guide us. It was totally urban and I loved it. It was fascinating to watch the many different people as they went about. Those that ordered, what they got, what mannerisms they showed as they waited...those were what captured my attention the most. I am what you would call a sheltered child, having only limited exposure to the grit of society. Yes, it seems that even a regular local burger shop is a foreign country to me.

From there, there was only a bit of a trek to Envy Me Salon. The name certainly caters to the usual stereotype of vain females with their constant desire to be the object of envy. I was hoping that the people in there would be nice. Turns out, they were more than nice. They were rather obliging, very professional, and were approachable. This branch was the one located right in front of NCCC Mall. Since it was a Saturday, I thought that they'd be super busy. They kind of were, but they were still able to cater to myself and my party.

It was adorable to see B and Mattie go through a foot spa session as they haven't experienced it before. B insisted that I be subjected to the package of foot spa/pedicure/manicure. I was a tad apprehensive as I thought it would be ridiculously expensive. However, it was only around 300+. That certainly didn't break the bank and as I found out, their service was very good. They made use of products like St. Ives and others. The cherry scented foot scrub was quite lovely. It certainly left my feet all soft and smooth.

I got into a rather long conversation with my attendant, Ate Maya. It seems that she's 5 months pregnant. Having been there myself, it was fun to talk about being pregnant. I also gave her tips that my doctor always insisted should be followed. Like walking regularly, taking in Folic Acid, drinking milk, and not denying yourself the cravings that go with the whole thing. She was surprised at how I was able to talk about my loss so openly. I miss Magsie dearly but what would be the point of dwelling on the sad parts of life? Besides, I promised my daughter that I would become a person that she would be very proud of.

On that note, B commented on how I seem to be more chipper and more positive than I was when we first got together. If I recall right, he was always saying back then how I was his ray of hope. It's nice, to be the recipient of such praise. Surprisingly, it doesn't put any pressure on me whatsoever. I should just keep acting the way I always do since it apparently affects people in a positive way.

So anyway, Envy Me Salon is definitely a place that I shall return to whenever I can. I look forward to seeing how they handle hair as thick and as long as mine!

After heading to NCCC Mall to buy rice, we headed home and decided to christen the newly bought Boggle game from yesterday. I love word games! I wasn't allowed to join in whenever my cousins would play...something about it being unfair if I joined or some other. But it's okay, I'm certainly allowed to play them now! It was so much fun! Whenever I can, I'll make sure to play more bouts with my family. ♥

Friday, March 11, 2011

27 Months

Time to take a break from lobbying for a bill or from events that may tickle my ire. I believe that I haven't posted anything in the mush category for quite a while. So anyway, B and I went on our 27th monthsary date today. I decided to take him to that little hole in the wall restaurant that makes great Italian food. Most Dabaweynos would be very familiar with Picobello. They're located at the 5th floor of the JS Mall (I don't know what they're called now but tell your cabbie that's where you're headed and they'll know where to go.) It's quite out of the way. When you get up to the escalator, turn left, past the kiosks, and into a sort of tunnel-like passage where you'll be surrounded by pretty much nothing. It's quite scary to first timers as thoughts of being mugged will surely be entertained in their heads. But fear not, it is all quite safe.

Picobello boasts of its brick oven pizza as most Italian places would forgo tradition in favor of modern amenities. I've always loved the ambiance that came with the place. It's perfect for families and mostly couples that would like to go on a quiet, but very romantic date. Fortunately we got there between 2pm and 5pm so we were able to avail of their buy 1, take 1 pizza promo. The catch is that you cannot take it to go and must finish it there. But it is totally worth it! I got myself a salad and a mango shake. B got himself his favorite Bolognese pasta and the 2 Margherita pizzas that we ordered. Of course, I had some of the pizza too!

B cannot wait to go back! Aside from all that, he also decided to buy me some new shoes since I haven't bought a pair in months. Most of my shoes were left in Manila and I was pretty happy with the pairs I owned here. It seems that God was on Boogie's side. The moment I uttered "I don't need new shoes." the pair that I was wearing broke! So I had to drag my feet to the ladies shoe section and picked out a new pair of wedges. I was happy with picking the cheapest ones there even if he insisted that I get the pricey ones. I was pretty happy with my choice but, I had only taken a few steps when the new pair I chose broke too. Sure it was mortifying but I laughed it off and the attendants laughed with me as well. So I gave into what B wanted and bought myself pricey shoes. However, I was totally adamant that I buy myself a new pair of sneakers. My pink pair was left in Manila too, so a nice black pair would suit me just fine.

B also decided to get me a bonnet, some new hair scrungies , a new Boggle set, a beautiful pair of silver hoop earrings. I haven't been as spoiled since the last time I went shopping with my daddy which resulted on an 11k splurge. So yeah, I was pretty happy. I love you, B. ♥

Monday, March 7, 2011

Breathe

It is quite easy to get caught up in the heat of the moment. Particularly when it comes to matters that--well, matter to you. Take for example the Ordinance passed by one Ayala Alabang Village. It's been the talk of the online world since it broke out around a week ago. Apparently, one needs to have a prescription when one wishes to purchase condoms in the area.

While that in itself is rather ridiculous, it's merely a small part of a much bigger obnoxious zit on the face of AAV. It isn't the requiring of condoms that stirs the hornet's nest. It's the outright prohibiting of Sex Education. Ayala Alabang is a rich village. The residents there have been blessed with opportunities that most only dream about. Most of all, they've had the privilege of having the best education that money could buy. With that in mind, what is it that makes them bar educating those around them?

Times are no longer as simple as they were. Our country is suffering from a sudden burst of population and it is eating away at what little resources we have. One way to reign in all the madness is to educate the common folk. The ordinance, if passed, prohibits the teaching of sexual education and passing along pamphlets and other paraphernalia that promotes the use of contraceptives.

The Muntinlupa City Council has yet to pass judgement upon the ordinance, although it seems that there were reports that they would junk it. However, when you are backed by money, religion, and stubbornness--the tale doesn't end so simply. Yesterday, Ayala Alabang managed to grab the attention of the internet community once more.

During the homily at St. James the Great Parish, the parish priest firstly clarified that he was not relating his homily to the Ordinance whatsoever, then later on expresses that if you do not support the ordinance, you are cursed. What a rather flimsy attempt to cover their hypocrisy. If you use twitter like I do, you would be quite familiar with the tweets of Carlos Celdran and Lea Salonga. They never fail to express their thoughts about AAV's ordinance.

What does all this have to do with me? I've lived there. Technically--still live there. It seems that AAV has conveniently forgotten that they are not solely Catholics there. Different families, with different beliefs reside there. It is just so surprising that a place that has had the admiration and envy of people has now become the butt of every RH-Bill related joke. Some are even going as far as calling is Ayala Taliban Alabang.

At this point, you can either raise your voice and be assured that they will raise their own too. Or you could take a step away from the mess, let tempers cool, and look at the big picture. What is worth fighting for? I do not condone abortion. I'd rather children be born. I would just prefer that they be planned. That is where sex education would work wonders.

Sunday, March 6, 2011

B's E.K.S.

So today's another E.K.S. day but due to the strenuous activity I indulged in yesterday, my body's not really up to it. Fortunately, Boogie volunteered to head in today's Experimental Kitchen Sunday! He decided to make Burger Steak. He was a bit nervous as to how it'll turn out but he followed the recipe to the letter. He even added mushrooms to the gravy! I'm proud of him

These are some pictures of what he accomplished:

It looks like a glorious mess, doesn't it? Rest assured though, the family loved it! It was really delicious! I've already picked what I'll make next week. I can't wait for Sunday! ♥

Saturday, March 5, 2011

Bowling!

So as the title suggests, I tried my hand at bowling today. My big brother invited us for a round over at NCCC's bowling alley. The last time I recalled ever going bowling was for high school finals exam. Ateneo had the weirdest (but FUN) exams for their students. B wasn't feeling very well so he opted to sit this one out but he went along with us since he didn't want to be left alone in the house. Mum was at work so it was down to me, my kuya, Mattie, and Hazel.

I rather liked the amenities as they were clean and well lit. The staff was really helpful and served you with a smile.

As expected, kuya was good at the game since he'd been going bowling practically every weekend for a while now. Mattie was more of a throw-really-hard-see-the-pins-die sort of player. Hazel was unexpectedly good with her dainty little throws all the while scoring successive strikes. And me? Well...let's just say that I've had better days.

That didn't stop me from having a blast though! After a few canal hits, I finally got into the rhythm of it and I have to say I was pretty proud to hit 9s! The game was affordable at 60 pesos per hour, the shoe rentals were just at 15 pesos each. So it definitely did not break the bank.

After the game, we headed down to Dencio's for a meal. I missed their squid! Kuya introduced me to something called 'Bulad Rice'. It was good but was a little too salty for my taste. Over the meal, Mattie surprisingly expressed his desire to start Muai Thai this summer. B of course was happy as a clam, he'd been wanting to join the class down at Metro for forever. So I suppose this date gave birth to the idea of gym lifestyles for everyone. Kuya was rather interested too. Me? I'm after the dance classes. I sorely miss dancing.

I unfortunately wasn't able to take a picture of the food before it all disappeared into our happy bellies but it was awesome. I do hope that we'll all be able to follow up on our respective gym desires soon. ♥